PATTY

Age:  9 years old

Breed: DSH tabby

Gender: Female

Dogs: No

Cats: No

Kids: No

Location: Edmonton

Medical: Patty is diabetic and requires daily insulin shots. She also has mild asthma and may need meds for it in the future. 

ADOPTION STATUS: Available for Adoption

Patty's Story

Hi! I’m Patty. I’m a beautiful almost 9-year-old brown tabby. I lost my human to Covid and found myself without a home.

 

When I first arrived I loved cuddling with my foster mom in the evenings and we'd sit and read or watch TV. But I didn’t have a lot of energy - I was quite content to lay around most of the time. The vet said I was tired and thirsty a lot because I have something called diabetes. Imagine my displeasure when my foster mom started this ritual of making me wait 12 hours between meals (except for a small snack during the day), and then poking me with a needle every time I ate. “What’s with this?!” I thought!?

When I first got diagnosed with diabetes I didn't handle the change in routine so well. I really hated the needles and because my diabetes had been unmanaged, it took a really long time to get under control. For quite a while I wasn’t very friendly with my foster mom. I’d bite her if she tried to touch me, and whenever she gave me my insulin. But I still followed her everywhere, because I really like to be close to her. I was just feeling too rotten to be very friendly. Anyway, I’m feeling much better now. I still drink and pee a lot, but I have a lot more energy and I’m a lot happier.

Now that I'm feeling better I enjoy cuddling with my foster mom again. I usually sit on her lap each evening for 10 or 15 minutes and get some pets before bed. Then I sleep at the foot of her bed. Sometime in the night I curl up beside her to get some cuddles when she wakes up in the morning. I run around the house a bit every evening, I play with my toy mice and I love chasing the little red dot that runs around on the floor sometimes (how do you catch the darn thing!?).

 

I LOVE helping my foster mom with things. I lie on her desk between the keyboard and monitor all day helping her work. I do get a bit cheeky and try to nibble on her sometimes if she tries to move my head from resting on her mouse or keyboard- doesn't she know that's my pillow? I also help her with crossword puzzles by lying right across the page she’s working on. As you can see I'm an incredibly helpful kitty! 

 

I am declawed (only on the front, of course) so I won’t scratch your furniture, and I actually quite like having my front paws held and caressed. It seems that I’ve been an indoor cat all my life, but I do like to spend time out on the balcony with my foster mom.

 

I’m looking forward to finding my forever home and not having to move around any more. If you can help with that, please apply here!

Patty
Patty

Patty
Patty

Patty
Patty

Patty
Patty

1/7