DIESEL

Age: 11 Years Old

Breed: American Pit Bull Terrier X

Gender: Male

Dogs: Yes

Cats: Unknown

Kids: Yes

Location: Calgary

Medical: Diesel has some mobility issues and muscle wasting in his hind end.

ADOPTION STATUS: Available for Adoption

Diesel's Story

 

Hi Everyone! My name is Diesel and my foster mum says for an old dog I sure have a lot of gas left in me. I am a very smart, playful and happy guy who loves walks, chewing and singing WooWoo when I’m excited. 

I need at least 3 walks a day because I have so much energy, but I also have some mobility issues due to my arthritis and some muscle wasting in my hind end. I can only walk for a maximum of 20 minutes at a time before my back legs get tired, even though my brain and front legs want to keep going. I am getting pretty good on the leash but I still pull when I see other dogs. I just want to meet them to play and be friends. I can sometimes come on a bit strong and spook the little dogs as I bound right up to them to play. If you let me, I will lead you on the walk and everywhere else I can get away with it. I need a family that will work with me to set boundaries and to keep working on my leash skills. 

I have recently been swimming (my foster mom calls this hydrotherapy) to help with my mobility. I was a little nervous at first but then I realised I get a treat for every lap I swim so I am much more comfortable now. I especially love lamb treats, hotdogs, cheese and stinky fish treats when swimming! The people at Pawsitively Pooched are so nice too! They always give me lots of pets with the towel when I get out of the water.  

I have some difficulty with stairs and would prefer a house without too many. I am nervous on smooth floors (like hardwood and tile). My back feet slip around on me because I don't have full muscle strength in my hind end to support myself. A home with lots of rugs or carpet would be ideal for me. I need a ramp to get in and out of the car but I do like car trips. I like to go with you everywhere. I experience a bit of separation anxiety but can be distracted with a toy filled with peanut butter for short periods left alone. I would prefer to be with a family where I am not left alone for long periods everyday.

We don’t know how I am with cats. I'm very excited when I see them but I am a bit of a rough player and my foster mom tells me cats don't usually appreciate that. I do love other dogs, so even though I don’t live with any, I think I would really enjoy having another dog to play with. I can get bored and lonely throughout the day even when mom is home because she is working on her laptop and not playing with me! The other dog would need to be a good match for me because I only have experience with other dogs on the leash and I can get very excitable. 

I love kids, especially if they let me give kisses! I love to give adults kisses too but they are so high up I can’t always reach them. I’m a real smooch pooch. I don’t really know my size so I can be a bit pushy as I try to give out all my kisses. Until I get used to my new home it’s best to supervise me with kids and to make sure kids know my hind quarters are a bit sensitive so they should not climb or jump on me. I am affectionate but not very cuddly. I love some good scratches but need my own space for resting and sleeping. 

I need a home that will respect my physical restrictions by giving me the exercise, hydrotherapy, medications and supplements I need. I also need vet check-ups every 6 months to make sure I’m happy and pain free.

 

If you think I am a handsome guy and I would fit in with your family, please apply here today!

Diesel
Diesel

Diesel
Diesel

Diesel
Diesel

Diesel
Diesel

1/5